If Discord detects suspicious account behavior on your account, we may place your account in Limited Access.
If your account is in Limited Access, you will not be able to join new servers or initiate new direct messages. Placing accounts with suspicious behavior in limited access helps us maintain a high quality experience for everyone on the platform.
How do I know I’ve been placed in Limited Access?
You will see a red bar at the top of your Discord client that says: Hey, something looks off with your account so we limited your access, but sometimes we make mistakes.
While you are in Limited Access, you will not be able to dismiss this notice.
In Limited Access, you can:
- Message your existing friends
- Send outgoing friend requests
- Direct message any new friends added while you were in Limited Access
- Join new servers
When attempting to join new servers, you will see this notification:
When attempting to message new friends added while you were in limited access, you will see this notification instead of the chat box:
How You’ll Appear to Others when in Limited Access
Other users will not see any indication that your account is in Limited Access.
Getting out of Limited Access
If you think we’ve made a mistake, you can use any of the methods below to submit a ticket to regain access:
1. Clicking on the ‘Regain Access Here’ button at the top of your Discord client
2. Clicking on the ‘Regain Access Here’ link in the Limited Access notification that appears when you try to join a new server
3. Submit a ticket here.