As a server owner or admin, it can sometimes be really hard to tell what the effect is going to be when you change roles and perms in your server,
With the View as Role feature, you can get a better understanding and see the perspective of your own server from another role!
What does this article cover?
- Who can View as Role in Your Server?
- What Can you View/See Using View as Role?
- How to View as Role in Your Server
Who can View as Role in Your Server?
Only the server owner and server members with a role with "Administrator" permission can use this feature in the server!
If you don't have a role with the "Administrator" permission in the server, you won't be able to view this option!
Note: Giving the "Administrator" permission to a user grants them all of the permissions in the permissions list! Assign this permission with caution.
What Can you See Using View as Role?
Using the View as Role feature, server owners and admins will be able to double check permissions such as:
- What text channels or categories a role can view
- What voice channels a role can connect to
- What channels have Read Message History permission enabled for a specific role
- What types of server settings a role can access/change (ex: Manage Server, Manage Nickname, etc!)
Note: Because voice restrictions are tied to the user, View as Role doesn't reflect voice restrictions like suppression or priority speaker.
How to View as Role in Your Server
If you have the right permissions in the server, head into your Server Settings by clicking on the server name in the upper left hand corner, and then selecting Server Settings in the drop down menu!
Once you are in the Server Settings menu, press on the Roles tab to view the full list of roles in the server!
Now you'll be able to select the role of your choice and press the "View Server As Role" button within the permissions section for the role!
Additionally, you can also press on the three dots symbol right beside the role name itself to enable the "View Server as Role" Option!
How to View as Multiple Roles
Once you've enabled the "View Server as Role" option, you'll see a bar at the top of your app pop up! From this menu, you can also view how your server looks like for a server member with multiple roles!
Press on the "Select Roles" drop down menu and you'll see a new menu appear with the full list of roles in your server!
Now to view the server as a user with a specific combination of role, you can press your desired role names and you'll see what the server looks like from their perspective!
If you have a lot of roles in your server and want to easily find a specific role, you can also type a specific role name in the "Search Roles" search bar and then directly add that role to your viewing list!
How to Disable View as Role
Once you're finished viewing the server from the lens of a specific role, you can disable the view by pressing on the Disable button on the right in the View as Role menu bar!
You'll then go back to how you view the server normally!
On the other hand, if you want to head directly back into your Role Settings, you can directly press the Back to Roles Settings button in the upper left hand corner!