Upon deletion of an account, all information of a deleted user account remains. This is unlike other websites or social medias, such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter - where all data is deleted.
Currently: "You are anonymized and deleted accounts are renamed to 'Deleted User#0000', your profile image is removed and you leave all servers." However, due to the very nature of discord, the user is not anonymized and it is extremely easy to figure out the identity of a deleted user.
This seems to go against GDPR compliance, as the 'Right to be Forgotten' isn't truly possible, and someone's personal data is still remaining online - even after account deletion. People can leave personal and identifiable information behind after deletion, and completely lose control over their data. Anyone with access to those messages has more control over the data than the person who owned the deleted account, potentially putting users at risk.
An example being: If a friend originally had the discord tag One#0001, and then changed their tag to something else (such as Two#2222) - you would still be fully aware of who that user is, and this is the same case with the current handling of account deletion on discord. As it stands, deleting your discord account isn't deleting it, it's deactivating it but making it permanent after 2 weeks. Another post called account deletion akin to "account archiving".
Future: "In addition to what is already done, all DMs with the deleted user should be closed and deleted users should no longer show up in people's DM list. All sent messages in servers and group chats should also be removed, alongside servers and group chats being left.
Even if a user has no personal information, they should still have the right to want their messages removed. When deleting a discord account, being that GDPR allows for 1 month to remove data, the message could be: "Please note that it takes up to one month for full account deletion to completely occur. After two weeks your account will be considered deleted, and you will no longer be able to restore it".
This is something that has been asked for for many years now, and concerns a lot of users - many of which do not even find out that deleting your account does not remove messages, etc, until it is too late. And causes a lot of anxiety, and poses a privacy/security threat. As is the case with other social media accounts, deletion of a discord account should result in all messages / data of a user being removed. Thank you for taking the time to read this.
Please sign in to leave a comment.