Channel permissions are an integral part of running a Discord server. Specific settings can ensure that certain server members or roles don’t have specific permissions while other key server members and roles do. Let’s go over each of these settings and what each one does.
What this article covers:
Before we go over each individual permission, let’s go over the setting status and what each status means.
X - The x means the option or setting is disabled.
/ - The slash means the option or setting will go by default settings.
Check - The checkmark means the option or setting is enabled.
General Channel Permissions
View Channel - When this setting is enabled, this allows members to view this specific channel. If disabled, members will not be able to view the channel.
Manage Permissions - When enabled, members are able to change channel permissions.
Manage Webhooks - Members can create, edit, or delete webhooks in this channel. Webhooks allow you to get automated messages and data updates sent to a specific text channel in your server. You can learn more about webhooks through the article, Intro to Webhooks.
Create Invite - Members can create server invite links that will be generated specifically for this channel.
Text Channel Permissions
Send Messages - This setting allows members to send messages in this channel.
Send Messages in Threads - This setting allows members to send messages in threads that are under this channel.
Create Public Threads - Allows a member to create threads visible to everyone in a channel.
Create Private Threads - When enabled, this setting allows members to create invite-only threads in this channel.
Want to learn more about Threads? You can learn more about them in our Threads FAQ article.
Embed Links - This setting allows links that a member has shared to show embedded content inside of this channel.
Attach Files - When enabled, this setting allows members to upload files or other media into this channel.
Add Reactions - If enabled, members are able to add new emoji reactions to a message in this channel. If disabled, members can react with any existing reaction that is already on the message.
Use External Emoji - Members are allowed to use emojis from other servers as long as they have Discord Nitro.
Use External Stickers - Members are allowed to use stickers from other servers as long as they have Discord Nitro.
Mention @everyone, @here, and All Roles - Members are able to use ping @everyone, @here, and any other roles in the server.
Manage Messages - Allows members to manage messages by other members
Manage Threads - When enabled, this setting will allow members to rename, delete, close, and even turn on slow mode for threads posted in this channel.
Read Message History - This setting allows members to see the message history (previous messages sent) in a channel.
Send Text-to-Speech Messages - If enabled, this setting allows members to send text-to-speech messages in the channel it’s enabled in.
Use Application Commands - If enabled, members are able to use commands from applications (including slash and context menu commands) in this channel. You can learn more about Application commands over at the Discord Developer Portal.
Now that you know what each channel permission does, you can set up your server using these permissions to be exactly how you want it to be! You can also learn more about using these settings in your own server by checking out the Setting Up Permissions FAQ article.