Instant Invites allow your friends to access your server, and with the proper adjustments you'll be able to level up your invite game in a few simple steps.
In order to gain the most amount out of your Invites, click on the box and arrow icon next to each channel title to access the Invite panel.
The invite panel will appear displaying a 24 hour access link by default if you haven't already adjusted the invite settings for that channel yet. Otherwise, the invite that displays will be dictated by your previous settings for that specific channel.
By clicking on Edit Invite Link, you’ll have the ability to change the duration of the link as well as how many times it can be accessed.
Expire After is the duration for which the invite link will work for. Choose between never, 30 minutes, 1, 6, 12 hours or 1 full day.
Max Uses is how many times the same link can be clicked before it expires. It can be set to have no limit, 1, 5, 10, 25, 50, or 100 uses.
Enabling the temporary membership option means that members who join are automatically kicked when they disconnect unless a role is assigned.
To create a permanent invite, select "never" under "expire after" and "no limit" under "max uses." By doing so, you'll generate a link that has infinite uses and won't become obsolete over any period of time. However, it's important to remember that the only way anyone can access your server is through an invite link so be careful with who you give it to!
Once you’ve adjusted the settings to your needs, click “Generate a New Link” and your new invite link will appear.
Old dog, new tricks
After some recent changes, links are now set to be only five characters long with the exception of links set to never expire. If you've created a permanent invite link prior to the update on 6.23.2016, the link has been grandfathered in and now has a sixteen character count.
Otherwise, new permanent invite links will only contain seven characters long.
To manage the links you've already generated and sent off into the wild, click on Server Settings and open up the Invite tab.
The tab provides you with info on who generated which link, how long it has left until it expires, and how many times each link has been used. Upon hovering your cursor on a link, a red X will appear and you'll be able to permanently delete it.
The last tidbit of information to know is that each individual channel, whether it's a voice channel OR a text channel, has its own settings for invite links. This means that even if you adjusted the #general text channel invite settings, they will not transfer over to any of your other channels!