If you'd like to disable your account instead of deleting it, you can do that too!
Head over to your User Settings and click Disable Account under Account Removal
Wait, what's the difference between disabling and deleting your account?
- Disabling your account means your account is put on hold. You can reactivate it by logging in and following the prompts. Keep in mind that accounts that are inactive for 2 years are deleted, so if you want to keep yours, you’ll need to reactivate your account (but you can disable it again after this if you like).
- When you disable an account you will no longer receive any @notifications from Discord. However, you can still get friend requests and any friend requests that you receive while your account is disabled will be waiting for you when you re-enable your account.
- When you choose to delete your account, the account will be permanently deleted (after a bit of time). It's irreversible!
If you think you may want to come back to Discord at a later date, we suggest disabling your account rather than doing a complete deletion!