What this article covers:
What is Activity Sharing on Discord?
When you engage in certain detectable activities (like playing a game or listening to music), Discord can display information about those activities. This includes when and how you engaged, as well as information about the activity. Some examples of the types of activity we show:
1. Detectable games you’re playing on a computer
2. Games you’re playing on Xbox or Playstation
3. Spotify
4. Crunchyroll
5. 1st and 3rd party Activities on Discord
6. And more!
Games and activities that support Rich Presence will show even more cool stuff about what’s happening in the activity.
And some activities from other services like Spotify or Crunchyroll require you to connect your account to Discord. You can learn more about these through our connections article here.
Example of Game Activity Notification
How to View Activity
Activity can be seen in multiple places within the Discord app.
Within User Profiles
When viewing your User Profile, you will be able to see your Recent Activity history within the last 30 days.
Recent Activity History on User Profile
On Global Activity Cards
You can also view activity cards by checking a user’s profile on mobile or in the Friends List on desktop. These cards display the recent activity of friends and people you interact with in your servers.
Activity Card in Friends List on Desktop (Top) & Activity Card on User Profile on Mobile (Bottom)
As a Status Message
While in a server, the activity may appear as a status in the Members list depending on your settings.
Activity Status in Members List on Desktop
How do I control who sees my activity?
Activity Sharing for the Teen Age Group
As part of our additional teen safety protections, we have standard activity sharing settings for users in the teen age group. You can change this setting at any time, you don’t have to be in the adult age group.
Users in the teen age group: Start with their activity sharing set to Friends & Small Servers. This means their full profile details will only be visible to their friends and members of any small servers (< 200 members) they join, not members of all shared servers.
Users in the adult age group or users who are unconfirmed: Start with their activity sharing set to Friends & All Servers everywhere.
Global Settings
In your global settings, you can control whether any activity of any kind is shown to others, regardless of whether they’re friends or not.
1. Select the cogwheel [] next to your Discord username to access your User Settings.
2. Then, select Activity Sharing where you will find your Activity settings.
3. Here you can determine your activity sharing settings.
First, decide whether you’d like to share your activity with others:
- Share my activity - This toggle controls whether or not others on Discord can see your activity sharing.
4. You can also determine your Default Sharing settings to control who can see your game and app activity when you join a new server:
-
Automatically share my activity with
- Friends & All Servers: Your activity is shared with friends and members of any server you join.
- Friends & Small Servers Only: Your activity is shared with friends and members of any servers you join with 200 or fewer members.
- Friends Only: Your activity is shared with your friends only.
- My Servers - Further customize your activity sharing by enabling or disabling your activity sharing on a per-server basis.
If your activity sharing is enabled in a server, the toggle next to the server will be ON. If disabled, the server will be toggled OFF.
“Share my activity toggle” in What Activity I Share
In certain countries and situations, this setting might be disabled by default for you. You can always change your settings by following the instructions above.
Per-server Control
If you want to control which servers can see your recent activity, you can disable or enable settings per server.
1. Navigate to the server where you would like to enable or disable the Activity Status settings.
2. Right-click the server’s name or select the dropdown menu.
3. Then, select Privacy Settings. This will give you the option to toggle the Activity Status setting.
Activity Status Toggle in Privacy Settings within a Server
Note:
- Members of a disabled server will still be able to see your activity if they’re also friends with you or if they share another server with you where your activity is allowed.
- Although the Activity Status may be turned off for a specific server, you’ll still see the status on your end unless you have it fully disabled.
Connections Settings
For any connected accounts that support sharing recent activity or rich presence, you’ll see a toggle to share your activity with others in the Connections menu located within your User Settings > Connected Apps.
Activity Sharing Toggle in Connected Apps
You can enable or disable each individual connection, but activity will only be shared as long as the global settings are also on.
Game Detection
You can enable or disable individual games from being displayed as activity in the Registered Games menu located within your User Settings > under Games & Apps. Activity will be shared as long as the global setting is also on.
Registered Games in Games & Apps Settings
Recent Activity History
While viewing your User Profile, you can also clear your Game History to clear it from your activity history.
1. Select your User Profile in the lower-left corner of the app to view your User Status menu.
2. Select your profile avatar to view your full profile.
User Profile Showing Activity
3. While here, press Activity within the profile categories.
Activity Tab in Full Profile
4. This will bring you to your activity history where you can select the ellipsis [] to the right of the activity and press Clear Game History.
5. Within Clear Game History press the Clear button in the lower-right corner to remove the activity from your history.
Clear Game History Option in Activity Menu (Top) & Clear Game History Confirmation (Bottom)
Who Can Join My Games
If you are sharing your activity and playing a game that supports rich presence, friends and other server members who are in the same voice channel as you can join the same game you’re playing. You have two options that you can enable:
Game Join Settings
- Allow friends to join my game: This allows for your Discord friends to join the game you’re playing, which is being shared as your activity.
- Allow voice channel participants to join my game: This allows for other server members who are in the same voice channel as you to join the game you’re playing, which is being shared as your activity. However, this feature is only available in non-Community servers.
You can read more about how Game Invites work on Discord at this article.
How Activity Sharing Works With Profile Privacy Setting
Profile Privacy setting and Activity Sharing are separate settings, but they work together to give you consistent control over your visibility on Discord.
When you change your Profile Privacy setting, you'll be prompted to update your Activity Sharing setting to match and vice versa. For example, if you set your Profile Privacy to Friends Only, Discord will ask if you'd like to restrict your Activity Sharing to friends only as well. You can choose to update both settings at once, or decline and manage them independently.