With Profile Privacy setting, you can control who has access to your profile details on Discord.
What this article covers:
What is Profile Privacy setting?
Profile Privacy setting lets you control who sees your full profile. You can choose from options like just your friends to friends and everyone in your servers. This setting can be accessed from desktop, browser, and mobile devices.
Profile Privacy setting will hide the following information:
When Profile Privacy setting is enabled, the following is still visible on your profile:
- Avatar
- Banner
- Display name
- Username
- Server tag
- Account age
- Mutual friends and servers
Example of a private profile as seen by someone who isn't a friend, showing a lock icon and limited info
How to Update Your Profile Privacy setting
Desktop/Browser
1. Select the cogwheel [] in the bottom-left corner to access your User Settings.
2. Navigate to the Data & Privacy tab and scroll down to the Profile Privacy setting section.
Profile Privacy Settings in Data & Privacy Settings Page
3. Here you can choose between the following options:
- Friends & All Servers: Your full profile will be visible to your friends and members of any servers you join.
- Friends & Small Servers Only: Your full profile will be visible to your friends and members of any servers you join with 200 or fewer members.
- Friends Only: Your profile will be visible to your friends only.
4. After selecting your preferred setting from the list above, your preference will be automatically saved.
Mobile
1. Tap You Bar at the bottom of the screen.
2. Your profile will open, showing your avatar, username, and status.
3. To access Settings, tap the cogwheel [] in the upper-right corner of your profile.
4. Navigate to Data & Privacy and then scroll down until you see Profile Privacy setting.
5. Here you can choose between the following options:
- Friends & All Servers: Your full profile will be visible to your friends and members of any servers you join.
- Friends & Small Servers Only: Your full profile will be visible to your friends and members of any servers you join with 200 or fewer members.
- Friends Only: Your profile will be visible to your friends only.
6. Tap on the setting you’d like to choose and then navigate out of your Settings to save.
Navigating to Profile Privacy Settings on Mobile
Profile Privacy Setting for the Teen Age Group
As part of our additional teen safety protections, we have standard profile privacy settings for users in the teen age group. You can change this setting at any time, you don’t have to be in the adult age group.
Users in the teen age group: Start with their profile set Friends & Small Servers. This means their full profile details will only be visible to their friends and members of any small servers (< 200 members) they join, not members of all shared servers.
Users in the adult age group or users who are unconfirmed: Start with their profile set to Friends & All Servers everywhere.
How Does This Affect Activity Sharing Setting
Profile Privacy setting and Activity Sharing are separate settings, but they work together to give you consistent control over your visibility on Discord.
When you change your Profile Privacy setting, you'll be prompted to update your Activity Sharing setting to match. For example, if you set your Profile Privacy setting to Friends Only, Discord will ask if you'd like to restrict your Activity Sharing to Friends Only as well. You can choose to update both settings at once, or decline and manage them independently.
Stop sharing activity too? Window Prompt
You can review and adjust your Activity Sharing setting at any time in User Settings > Activity Privacy. To learn more, see Activity Sharing on Discord.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Am I required to age assure in order to change this setting?
A: No. You can change this setting at any time in your Data & Privacy > Profile Privacy.
Q: If my profile is private, can people still send me friend requests?
A: Yes. Making your profile private does not affect your ability to receive friend requests. Others can still send you a friend request even if they can't see your full profile details.
Q: If my profile is private, can people still send me DMs?
A: Yes. You may control who can DM you through your Content & Social settings. Your profile privacy does not affect this setting.
Q: How does the Profile Privacy setting work for server moderators?
A: Moderators see the same profile information as any other member of your shared server — they don't get special access to details you've made private.
Moderators keep all their existing community management tools that they need to keep their communities safe. Username, display name, account age, and mutual server info stay visible.